How to create the ultimate sugar cookie

I’ve been wanting to create a food DIY for a while now, and with this recipe from itsalwaysautumn.com  I found the perfect fit for my taste buds. In my 21 years of living I’ve never homemade cookies before and wanted to test my chef skills.

Here’s what you’ll need to pick up at your local grocery store. In my case, this store was Publix.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

 

Items I had to buy: All-purpose flour (5 cups), vanilla extract (1 teaspoon), baking powder (5 teaspoons), heavy whipping cream (2 tablespoons), margarine (1 cup), and powdered sugar (3 cups).

Items my family already had in the kitchen: Sugar (in purple container/2 cups), milk (6 tablespoons), food coloring, eggs (3), salt (1/2 teaspoon), and butter (2/3 cup softened). Having all of these items in my family’s kitchen enabled me to save quite a bit of money.

FullSizeRender-1.jpgFullSizeRender-5.jpg

Instructions for cookie dough:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix together sugar, margarine, eggs, and milk until smooth. Then add flour, salt, and baking soda until combined. Generously flour a work surface (I did this on a cutting board) and rolling pin.
  3. Roll about 1/4 of the dough to 3/8 inch thickness. Cut the dough with a cookie cutter (or use a glass like I did) and place on a lightly greased cookie sheet.
  4. Cook for about 9-10 minutes depending on the thickness of the dough. Once completed, remove from pan and immediately on newspaper or another similar surface. These cookies should not be brown at all, so don’t be alarmed if you take them out and the color is similar to dough.

FullSizeRender-4.jpgFullSizeRender-2.jpg

Instructions for frosting (you may want to double the recipe if you enjoy a lot of frosting):

  1. Once cookies are cooled, begin to frost cookies.
  2. Add butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and heavy whipping cream into a bowl.
  3. Mix together with a beater until frosting like texture is achieved.
  4. Put a section of frosting in a new bowl and add food coloring to desired color.

FullSizeRender.jpg

After completing this project I realized how difficult making these would be from scratch. The dough was incredibly sticky and I didn’t honestly enjoy the taste of homemade buttercream icing. The cookies after completion tasted a bit dry to me, so if you try this at home add and extra egg yolk to the batter. Personally I’d rather buy the soft cookies at the grocery…but overall it was a fun project.

 

Overall Cost: $20 (reminder – I had many of these items already at home in our kitchen, which made this project significantly cheaper.)

Overall Time: 120 minutes

Overall DIY: Eh.

Leave a Reply

